UB SON Celebrates Virtual 2020 Faculty and Staff Awards

Image that says 2020 Faculty and Staff awards.

Published January 6, 2021


The University at Buffalo School of Nursing celebrated its 2020 Faculty and Staff Awards on Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2020 via Zoom. Each award recipient demonstrates the highest standards in their nomination areas; integrates the mission, vision and values of the school in their role; and fosters a culture of inclusion, respect and collaboration, among other criteria.

Here are the 2020 Faculty and Staff Award recipients:

  • Excellence in Research Scholarship: Kafuli Agbemenu, PhD, MPH, RN, CTN-A
  • Mecca S. Cranley Award for Excellence in Teaching: Melinda Haas, DNP, RN, FNP-BC 
  • Excellence in Clinical Scholarship Award: Loralee Sessanna, DNS, RN, AHN-BC, Faith Community Nurse 
  • Dean’s Staff Award for Excellence: Robert Cenczyk, Jennifer Schreier and the Technology Services Team (James Lichtenthal, Cheryl Oyer and Peter Swiatowy)

The SON also recognized faculty and staff members for their years of service. Edonn Ball, Donna Fabry, Susan Grinslade, Nicole Niedzwiedz, Joann Sands and Peter Swiatowy received their 10-year pins; Lynn Emminger and Sharon Przybylak received their 20-year pins; and Janice Jones received her 30-year pin, which is awarded by the President’s Office.

The 2020 ceremony was postponed from May 2020. The 2021 SON Faculty and Staff Awards is tentatively scheduled for May 2021.