Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

Gamma Kappa Chapter

Sigma Theta Tau logo.

Gamma Kappa is a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, nursing's honor society. Its purpose is to recognize the excellence of individual University at Buffalo undergraduate and graduate nursing students and nurse leaders in the community.

The chapter serves its members by facilitating professional growth through the development, dissemination and utilization of knowledge and through the provision of resources. Chapter activities, supported by membership dues, promote high standards of nursing practice, research, scholarship and leadership in its members. They, in turn, positively influence the health and well-being of the community.

To the nursing students derailed by COVID-19: A message to nursing students STTI member Marianne Biangone, MSN, RN, PHN.

Chapter Leadership

Member Positions and Terms
Position Name Term Email
President Gale Klinshaw 2019-2021
Vice President Melinda Haas 2019-2021
Treasurer Michelle McKay 2020-2022
Counselor Lana Pasek 2019-2021
Counselor Linda Steeg 2020-2022
Governance Donna Fabry 2019-2021
Governance Committee Member Sharon Hewner 2020-2022
Leadership Succession Committee Chair Catherine Mann 2020-2022
Leadership Succession Committee Member Janice Jones 2020-2022
Leadership Succession Committee Member
Angelyn Brown 2020-2022
Membership Committee Patti Sorrentino 2020-2022
Tyler Owitz 2020-2022
Devon Gallagher 2020-2022
Publicity/Newsletter Joann Sands 2020-2022
Publicity/Newsletter Sydney Cifra 2020-2022
Research Chair Meg Doerzbacher 2020-2022
Research Chair Suzanne Sullivan 2020-2022
Awards Chair Molli Oldenburg 2020-2022
Awards Chair Patti Nisbet 2020-2022

Membership Information

In order to receive member benefits and publications you must pay annual membership fees.  However, individuals can only be inducted into STTI once, therefore if you let your membership lapse at any time you will need to reactivate your membership in order to once again receive member benefits.  You would not need to be inducted again.  Memberships can be reactivated at any time online using the MEMBERSHIP RENEWAL form or calling: 888-634-7575 (US/Canada toll free) or +1-317-634-8171 (International). 

Membership Application

Thank you for your interest in the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International membership.  Please choose and complete the appropriate form for membership and return form via fax, email, postal mail to:

Janice Jones, STTI, Gamma Kappa Governance Chair
University at Buffalo, School of Nursing
222 Wende Hall
Buffalo, NY 14214
Office: 716-829-2304 | Fax: 716-829-2021 | Email:

Region 11 Coordinator

Janice jones.

Janice Jones, PhD, RN, CNS, was elected Sigma Theta Tau Region 11 Coordinator during the 2019 Sigma Biennial Convention. Jones is the MS Nursing Leadership & Health Care Systems program coordinator and a clinical professor at UB School of Nursing. 

More About Sigma Theta Tau International

Sigma Theta Tau International is the honor society of nursing committed to fostering excellence, scholarship and leadership in nursing to improve health care worldwide. The Society promotes the use of nursing research in health care delivery and makes its resources available to all people and institutions interested in the latest knowledge in nursing care.

Sigma Theta Tau International was founded in 1922 and has a membership of more than 130,000 members active in 89 countries. It has 486 chapters located at college and university schools of nursing worldwide. Fifty-one percent of the Society's members are clinicians, 19 percent are administrators or supervisors, and 18 percent are educators. Thirty-nine percent of its members hold master or doctoral degrees.