2022 School of Nursing Commencement Student Awards

VIctor E. Bull in commencement regalia.

Published May 18, 2022

Congratulations to the 2022 School of Nursing commencement award recipients.


SUNY Chancellors Award for Student Excellence

This award acknowledges students for outstanding achievements that have demonstrated the integration of SUNY excellence within many aspects of their lives in areas such as academics, leadership, campus involvement, community service or the arts.

Recipient: Paloma Tripathi

Sigma Theta Tau, Gamma Kappa Chapter Award

This award is made by the Gamma Kappa Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, the national nursing honor society, to encourage and recognize superior scholarship, leadership and achievement in nursing. The award recognizes graduating students who possess these characteristics and who are current members of the chapter.


  • Graduate: Meg Doerzbacher, Tyler Owitz
  • Undergraduate: Nicole Christina Finn

Ethan Christian ‘12 Memorial Award

This award is presented annually to honor an outstanding University at Buffalo nursing student at graduation in memory of Ethan Christian ‘12. The recipient demonstrates exceptional care, compassion, and excellence in the practice of nursing as exemplified by Ethan.

Recipient: Nicole Christina Finn

Shirley D. DeVoe Nursing Award for Excellence in Communication

This award was endowed by Ms. DeVoe, a distinguished alumna and friend of the School of Nursing, who received both her BS and MS in Nursing from the University at Buffalo. It is presented to a graduating baccalaureate and graduate student who have demonstrated superior skill in communicating with and for their patients and clients.


  • Graduate: Safet Ahmic
  • Undergraduate: Dandrea Rynkewicz

Dr. S. Mouchly Small Award

The Dr. S. Mouchly Small Award was endowed by distinguished nursing alumna, Sophie Small, to honor her late husband, Dr. Small, Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry of the University at Buffalo School of Medicine. The award recognizes graduating students who have demonstrated superior knowledge and skill in psychiatric mental health nursing and who exhibit an understanding of and sensitivity to the special needs of clients and their families as well as the ability to respond to these needs.


  • Graduate: Aza Attie
  • Undergraduate: Marina Alzapiedi

Ruth T. McGrorey Award for Excellence in Nursing

This award was named in honor of Ruth T. McGrorey, former Dean of the School of Nursing (1966-1973). The award recognizes baccalaureate students who have demonstrated outstanding knowledge of nursing theory and excellence in nursing practice.

Recipients: Terri Darkwah, Kelly Luo

Anne Walker Sengbusch Award for Leadership in School and Community Activities

This award was named for Anne Walker Sengbusch, founding Dean of the University at Buffalo School of Nursing (1936-1965). It recognizes graduating students who have provided notable service and leadership in the School of Nursing, University and/or to the Community.

Recipient: Isabelle Figueroa

Ruth Gale Elder Award for Excellence in Nursing Research

The Ruth Gale Elder Award for Excellence in Nursing Research was established by Dr. Ruth Gale Elder, Acting Dean of the School of Nursing (1978-1980) and nursing educator. The award recognizes graduate students who have demonstrated outstanding knowledge and ability in research and who hold a special promise for leadership in nursing research.

Recipient: Misol Kwon

Excellence in Teaching Award for Graduating Teaching Assistants

This award is in recognition of exceptional ability in teaching by UB graduate students. Students are selected based on superb and creative performance in the classroom or laboratory, engagement with mentoring and advisement, and a commitment to the high academic standards in teaching.

Recipient: Tyler Owitz

Media Contact Information

Sarah Goldthrite
Director of Marketing, Communications & Alumni Engagement
School of Nursing
105 Beck Hall (South Campus)
Email: sgoldthr@buffalo.edu
Tel: 716-829-3209